Kerbio

Licensing by council › Croydon

HMO licensing in Croydon

Which licences a rented house needs in Croydon, and where. England. Checked 7 September 2026.

Mandatory HMO licensing only in Croydon.

Mandatory HMO licence: 5 or more people forming 2 or more households sharing facilities.

Additional licensing

Extends HMO licensing to smaller HMOs (typically 3 or 4 people) in a designated area.

None found

approved, starts 2026-09-25. Borough-wide additional HMO licensing scheme 2026 for HMOs of 3 or more persons in 2 or more households; designation dated 25 March 2026 (referenced on selective page); commencement date amended, now 25 September 2026; online applications open 25 September 2026; end date not stated.

Selective licensing

Every privately rented home in a designated area needs a licence, HMO or not.

None found

approved, starts 2026-09-25. Selective licensing scheme 2026 covering 14 wards comes into force 25 September 2026; end date not stated (licences granted for up to 5 years).

Council HMO page · HMO Article 4 in Croydon

Check an exact postcode for Article 4

See this on every listing.Kerbio puts the Article 4 answer, licensing, the council's HMO register and sold prices on the Rightmove, Zoopla or OnTheMarket page itself. Free for 7 days, then £39 a month.
Add to Chrome

Sources: Croydon council, gov.uk HMO licensing. Schemes change; confirm with the council before you offer.