Kerbio

Article 4 by council › Croydon

HMO Article 4 in Croydon

Do you need planning permission to turn a family home into a small HMO in Croydon? What the council's own direction says, with dates, the map and the source.

Yes. The whole of Croydon is covered by an HMO Article 4 direction.

whole borough (non-immediate direction made 2019-01-28) In force since 28 January 2020. Converting a family home (use class C3) to a small HMO of 3 to 6 people (class C4) needs full planning permission anywhere in Croydon.

Coverswhole borough (non-immediate direction made 2019-01-28)In force from28 January 2020Made or confirmed28 January 2019Council pagewww.croydon.gov.uk/planning-and-regeneration/planning-policyMapcouncil mapChecked8 September 2026

Check an exact postcode

A direction can cover part of a council, and the national dataset is incomplete. This asks the planning data service for the exact point and falls back to the council's own statement.

Licensing in Croydon

Mandatory HMO licence: 5 or more people forming 2 or more households sharing facilities.

Additional licensing: none found. approved, starts 2026-09-25. Borough-wide additional HMO licensing scheme 2026 for HMOs of 3 or more persons in 2 or more households; designation dated 25 March 2026 (referenced on selective page); commencement date amended, now 25 September 2026; online applications open 25 September 2026; end date not stated.

Selective licensing: none found. approved, starts 2026-09-25. Selective licensing scheme 2026 covering 14 wards comes into force 25 September 2026; end date not stated (licences granted for up to 5 years).

Full licensing detail for Croydon

What an Article 4 direction means

HMO Article 4 directions remove the permitted-development right to convert a family home (C3) to a small HMO (C4, 3 to 6 people). Inside one, that conversion needs full planning permission. Councils may also run additional licensing (smaller HMOs) or selective licensing (all private rentals) in designated areas. Planning permission and licensing are separate: a licence does not grant planning permission, and permission does not remove the need for a licence.

See this on every listing.Kerbio puts the Article 4 answer, licensing, the council's HMO register and sold prices on the Rightmove, Zoopla or OnTheMarket page itself. Free for 7 days, then £39 a month.
Add to Chrome

Sources: Croydon council, planning.data.gov.uk Article 4 direction areas, gov.uk HMO licensing. Indicative; confirm with the council before you offer.