Kerbio

Licensing by council › Luton

HMO licensing in Luton

Which licences a rented house needs in Luton, and where. England. Checked 7 September 2026.

Luton runs additional licensing and selective licensing on top of mandatory licensing.

Mandatory HMO licence: 5 or more people forming 2 or more households sharing facilities.

Additional licensing

Extends HMO licensing to smaller HMOs (typically 3 or 4 people) in a designated area.

StatusIn forceWherewhole districtDesignated5 February 2024

Designation made 25 October 2023, in force 5 February 2024 across the whole borough for HMOs shared by three or four people forming two or more households; end date not stated. Note: application system temporarily unavailable and enforcement for unlicensed properties paused while it is down.

Selective licensing

Every privately rented home in a designated area needs a licence, HMO or not.

StatusIn forceWherenamed areas: Town centre and Park Town areas of LutonDesignated1 June 2026

Designation made 25 October 2023; went live 1 June 2026 after the council defended a legal challenge; early bird reduced fee period to 31 August 2026; end date not stated; application system currently unavailable. Source: https://www.luton.gov.uk/housing/private-tenants-homeowners-landlords/landlords/selective-licensing

Council HMO page · HMO Article 4 in Luton

Check an exact postcode for Article 4

See this on every listing.Kerbio puts the Article 4 answer, licensing, the council's HMO register and sold prices on the Rightmove, Zoopla or OnTheMarket page itself. Free for 7 days, then £39 a month.
Add to Chrome

Sources: Luton council, gov.uk HMO licensing. Schemes change; confirm with the council before you offer.