Kerbio

Article 4 by council › Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole

HMO Article 4 in Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole

Do you need planning permission to turn a family home into a small HMO in Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole? What the council's own direction says, with dates, the map and the source.

In parts. Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole has HMO Article 4 directions in named areas.

named areas: the whole of the former Bournemouth Borough area (in force December 2011, exact day not stated on council page) and Talbot Village in the Poole area (in force 2013-05-01); no direction in the Christchurch area or the rest of Poole Inside those areas a small HMO of 3 to 6 people needs full planning permission; outside them it is permitted development, subject to licensing. Check the exact address on the council's map or with the postcode checker below.

Coversnamed areas: the whole of the former Bournemouth Borough area (in force December 2011, exact day not stated on council page) and Talbot Village in the Poole area (in force 2013-05-01); no direction in the Christchurch area or the rest of PooleCouncil pagewww.bcpcouncil.gov.uk/planning-and-building-control/planningMapcouncil mapChecked8 September 2026

Check an exact postcode

A direction can cover part of a council, and the national dataset is incomplete. This asks the planning data service for the exact point and falls back to the council's own statement.

Licensing in Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole

Mandatory HMO licence: 5 or more people forming 2 or more households sharing facilities.

Additional licensing: none found. Council HMO pages describe mandatory licensing only (5 or more people). Council consulted 2020-01-13 to 2020-04-06 on a BCP-wide additional scheme; no scheme shown as in force on current pages.

Selective licensing: none found. Council HMO pages show no selective scheme in force. 2020 consultation proposed selective licensing in parts of Westbourne, Boscombe, West Hill, Bournemouth Town Centre, Poole Town Centre, Charminster, Winton, East Cliff, Springbourne, Pokesdown and Southbourne; not shown as implemented.

Full licensing detail for Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole

What an Article 4 direction means

HMO Article 4 directions remove the permitted-development right to convert a family home (C3) to a small HMO (C4, 3 to 6 people). Inside one, that conversion needs full planning permission. Councils may also run additional licensing (smaller HMOs) or selective licensing (all private rentals) in designated areas. Planning permission and licensing are separate: a licence does not grant planning permission, and permission does not remove the need for a licence.

See this on every listing.Kerbio puts the Article 4 answer, licensing, the council's HMO register and sold prices on the Rightmove, Zoopla or OnTheMarket page itself. Free for 7 days, then £39 a month.
Add to Chrome

Sources: Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole council, planning.data.gov.uk Article 4 direction areas, gov.uk HMO licensing. Indicative; confirm with the council before you offer.